Bienvenue à Aix-en-Provence!

Bonjour tout le monde! I genuinely CANNOT believe that I am finally in Aix-en-Provence – studying abroad in France has been a dream of mine ever since I visited Paris and started college, and after months of what seemed like bad news, I finally made it! The south of France has been more than I could’ve dreamed for and more. 

I left Tokyo on January 20th with tears in my eyes as I had just said bye to my family as I walked through the departure gates. Despite being in my third year of university, and the adventure that was ahead of me, it never got easier to say bye to my home. Not wanting to get weird stares from strangers in the airport, I shook it off and got myself ready for the most exciting adventure of my life.
I first landed in London, where I had a layover, and spent the day with my good friends who study in the UK who I hadn’t seen since we graduated high school (3 freakin years ago). While it was beautiful and I had an amazing time, London was swallowing up my wallet so I had to leave. To say I was already nervous was an understatement, but when I arrived at my gate and saw a gaggle of American girls who I was 99% were going to the same program, I became terrified. I had actually called my friend a few days before because I felt like I had completely forgotten how to make friends. I recognized someone who goes to my university back in the States, to which I mustered up the courage to go introduce myself and seemingly looking like a stalker because I knew where she went to school (I really should be used to the tragedy that if my life by now).


Long story short, we had orientation, made tons of new friends, yadda yadda – I will fully explain in another blog post but I don’t want to bore you away! The day before classes started, the university organized a trip for the entire school to go to the Luberon region (about an hour away), where we would explore quaint towns and experience a winery (for which I was very excited). 

This is the first place we passed through. What. In. The. World. 

Processed with VSCO with f1 preset
I have no words. none. It literally looks like a postcard or one of those Pinterest images you save in hopes that you can one day get off your lazy butt, save money and go see. How do people live here??

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
We passed through a small town called Lourmarin, which wasn’t much different from Aix but also adorable – I fell in love in my first ten steps. 

Processed with VSCO with k3 preset

We hopped back on the bus to head to the winery. If you didn’t know, white wine and I have become fast friends. I can’t forget about Rosé too! While I was extremely disappointed that we didn’t get to taste any actual wine because we were too big of a group, it was still very cool to see all the different types of wine. Some students bought some, but I couldn’t justify only being 20 and spending €€€ when I can’t tell the difference between cheap and expensive wine. Except Franzia. That stuff is disgusting. 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Back on the bus again – this time we were heading to a little mountain area called the “Colorado Provençal” or “Le Petit Colorado”. When I found out, all I could think was – I came to France to get away from the US, not go back to it. BUT. I was SO wrong. 

How does this even exist? It was absolutely breathtaking; the colors were vibrant, there was a sense of serenity from the lack of people, it was truly one of those moments when you realize how crazy and exciting this life and this world really is. 

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetThis is a candid photo I took of Laura that she hates but I love. 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
The cover of our (what do the kids say these days? fire? lit?) mixtape. Or vinyl record cause we’re both old deep down. 

I’ve been here for about 2 weeks now and I already have so much to share (hence why are there are more photos than usual!), but I hope you guys are just as excited as I am. I was itching to write this blog post and wanted nothing more than to forsake all my homework to do it (then again, there’s a lot of things I’d rather do than homework), and I’m so happy I’ve found something I have fallen in love with doing.


I hope you guys enjoyed, and I’ll see you soon! xx

Leave a Reply

